Do not, under any circumstances, track usage of your plugin without explicit consent. If you want to ask your users if you can track them, by all means ask. But you may not require it, and you shouldn’t make it look like they have to in order to use your plugin. That’s being dishonest. This has been a guideline for a very long time, it’s not negotiable. Assume people do not want to be tracked and have it to be an opt-in feature. If your plugin uses Google Analytics, emails you on plugin activation, triggers some complex check on your servers when a plugin is updated, or tracks usage in any other way when a user has not clearly said “Yes, I allow you to track me,” your plugin will be removed from the repository and you will have to correct this in order to get it back. This extends to ads provided by a third party service. If your plugin includes advertising from a third party service, then it has to default to completely disabled. This is to prevent tracking information from being collected from the user without their consent. Again, this is all about people opting into being tracked. (For those thinking about using Adsense, don’t. Re-read their Adsense
Share This